Chernivtsi is not only the administrative, economic and cultural center of Bukovina, but also an important religious center of the region. Slender spiers, domes and towers create a unique silhouette of the city, which lies on the high terraces of the right bank of the Prut river.
In our time as well as long time ago the city has many religious communities and organizations.
Chernivtsi is wellknown for its tolerance. The historical facts show this. For example, in the Catholic Church of the Exaltation of the Cross Reverend Armenians and Greek Catholics served their Mass before built their own temples.
We start our tour from the former residence of metropolitans of Bukovyna and Dalmatia. It is the most attractive building in Chernivtsi city. This is a jewel of architecture and the calling card of the city. The whole ensemble of residence was built in the years 1864-1882 by the architect Josef Hlavka. At the residence there is active Church of Three Saints with magnificent paintings. This is Ukrainian Orthodox Church of Kiev Patriarchate. Other buildings of the residences are used as student audience of Chernivtsi University.
In 1830 Bukovina Metropolitan Eugene Hakman brought to Chernivtsi the project of the Cathedral of the Holy Spirit. The temple was built in the classical style for twenty years (1844-1864 years). And it is located on Cathedral Square.
On the next street there is the Roman Catholic church of the Heart of Jesus, built in the neo-Gothic style. Spired church was built in 1894, but today, unfortunately, we can see only the outer walls. In the 60th of the last century it was reconstructed to the archive. The original paintings and stained glass, as well as organ and chimes were destroyed. Currently, the temple restoration work carried out on donations.
A few minutes walk from this church we can see Armenian Church. The architect is Josef Hlavka. The church was dedicated in 1875. There is the organ in the church and nowadays it is widely used as a concert hall of organ music.
Not far from the Armenian Church there is Greek Catholic Cathedral of the Assumption, that was built in 1821 in the style of Ukrainian Baroque by the project of architect Volodymyr Zalozetskiy. Currently, there is the miraculous icon of Holy Mary In this church.
Further down the street we will see St. Nicholas Cathedral. I was build in 1939, by the project of the Romanian architect Nanesku. The temple was built in neo-Romanian church-style with spiral towers. Due to these towers it is also called "Drunken Church". Next to it there is the bell tower, which was moved from the territory of the old wooden church of St. Nicholas (see below). In St. Nicholas Cathedral Liturgy is conducted by the Eastern Orthodox Church rite.
The wooden church of St. Nicholas is one of the oldest monuments of so-called "cottage type" of 18th century. It should be noted that during the Turkish rule in Bukovyna Chernivtsi citizens were not allowed to build high churches. That’s why, the church built in 1748, looks somewhat squat and without dome.
The first stone church of Chernivtsi is a Roman Catholic Church of the Exaltation of the Cross Reverend. In 2014 they celebrated the 200-th anniversary of the church. In this church that is built in the classical style, there is the old organ, which is used during the Mass. On the outside wall of the church there is a sundial that shows the Viennese time. In the church Mass is served in two languages - Polish and Ukrainian.
Not far from this church there is the Orthodox Church of St. Paraskeva. The architect A. Pavlovskiy used Romanesque elements and built a temple on the type of Serbian churches of the 15th century. They started to build the church in 1844.
Also in the city center there was a magnificent synagogue – “Temple”. It was commanded in Neo- Moorish style 1877. Here for the first time sounded in full force the vote of famous tenor Joseph Schmidt. In 194 the Temple was burned by the Germans, and in 1959 the building was restored, but already as a cinema.
Another synagogue was built in Chernivtsi in 1923. It combines elements of Moorish and Romanesque Revival architecture styles. This synagogue was never closed, there is daily service on conducting the rite direction rabbinical Judaism. It is located on the L. Kobylytsi street.
Sadgora (one of the districts in Chernivtsi) in 19 - first half of 20 century was called "Jewish Vatican". After all, here were the synagogues and the palace of Hasidic Rabbi. His residence in Sadgora was built in the middle of 19th century and is ocated on the Maurice Thorez street, 192. Residence includes Rabbi’s Palace and his own house.
So, Welcome to a trip of Chernivtsi churches!
Copyright © 2011-2020 Chernivtsi. All rights reserved. Chernivtsi Excursion Office. Tel: +38 (095) 86-17-601, +38 (063) 92-69-558, +38 (068) 040-18-18, (0372) 909-220.
58000 Chernivtsi. 6 Post St. (entrance from Chaikovskyy St),