Chernivtsi National University named by Yuri Fedkovych is located in the former residence of metropolitans of Bukovyna and Dalmatia. It is the most attractive building in Chernivtsi city. This is a jewel of architecture and the calling card of the city.
Address: Chernivtsi city, Kotsyubynskoho street, 2. Excursion office is located in the church near the department №6.
You may book the excursions by phones: +38 (0372) 58-48-21, (050) 374-37-11, (099) 928-13-40,
(050) 176-47-12, (050) 176-47-13
Tours are conducted daily from 10.00 to 17.00. Duration - 30-40 minutes.
Admission fees (Per person): 50 UAH (in a group of less than 6 people), 35 UAH. (when a group consists of 6 people or more), student’s - 20 UAH, children - 15 UAH. Admission tickets without excursions cost - 15 UAH.
Building commenced in 1864 and was designed by architect Josef Hlavka. It was finally completed in 1882.
Its construction was complex for the time using the best craftsmen from different parts of the Austrian-Hungarian Empire. Notably two brick factories were specifically built to supply its construction.
The University architecture is influenced by renaissance, Gothic and Moresque elements with emphasis on the Roman-Byzantine style. Josef Hlavka, is hinting at multiculturalism of Chernivtsi.
Entering the magnificent entrance gates you will see three separate buildings: Residence of the Metropolitan; Theological faculty, which operates at the Chernivtsi National University even nowadays and Psalmist’s school.
The Residences complex also includes two churches - the Seminary Church of Three Saints; Church of St. John New of Suceava and two magnificent parks.
The interiors of two-storey palace of Metropolitan were decorated with exquisite taste. In the center of the building on the second floor was located Synodal Hall (Marble Hall), decorated with arcades and painting. However from that greatness is almost nothing left because during the World War II the central part of the ensemble was burned. Metropolitan’s rooms, Library (Blue Hall), home church and refectory were destroyed in the right part of building. Also all the decorations of walls and ceilings in Synod Hall were lost. However the authentic interiors of Yellow, Green and Red Halls, the ceilings of which are decorated with artesonado are saved.
The architectural monument was restored in two stages and even if the rooms are not acquired the original appearance, we still have much to be proud.
Behind the central part of the building there is the park, in which we can see more than two thousand trees and shrubs from different climatic zones. There is also a Mediterranean flora here (magnolias, rhododendrons, etc.).
We also can see a monument of the architect Josef Hlavka in front of the park.
Theological faculty was situated in the left building of the residences, in the structure of the Church of Three Saints.
The first “Biblical Garden” in Ukraine was planted between left and central parts, behind building in 2013. Cedar saplings were planted primarily, then here come with all the plants mentioned in the Holly Bible.
The Psalmist’s school was situated in right building of Residences. The building has a clock tower. Today here is the geography faculty of the Chernivtsi National University.
For more than 130 years, the buildings have not lost their charm and beauty.
On June 28, 2011 Residence was listed as UNESCO (World Heritage Site).
Welcome to an excursion of the University!
Copyright © 2011-2019 Chernivtsi. All rights reserved. Chernivtsi Excursion Office. Chernivtsi. 10 Central Sq., (095) 86-17-601, (063) 92-69-558, (068) 040-18-18, (0372) 909-220.